CMMI and Agile Blog

July 17, 2014

Turning a Weakness into a Major Strength In My New Book “15 Fundamentals…”

I just released a new book titled, “15 Fundamentals for Higher Performance in Software Development.”  You can learn more about the book at www.amazon.com (paperback book or kindle store) or at www.leanpub.com/15fundamentals.

In this, my first of a planned series of blogs about the book, I want to share some background information about how the book evolved and how I was able to turn a weakness into a major strength of the book.

If you have been following my blogs over the past few years you probably know I have been involved since 2010 in the SEMAT (www.semat.org)  initiative.  SEMAT, just last month, achieve a major milestone with the Object Management Group formally adopting the Essence Specification as an OMG standard.

When I started to write my just released new book close to 4 years ago I did not plan for it to include any discussion on SEMAT or Essence.  My intent was to describe a problem that the software development community faces that I felt needed to be discussed more openly.  You can learn more about the problem at:

But as I moved forward in writing the book in parallel with my work on SEMAT I started seeing more and more areas where SEMAT’s Essence framework could help to solve the problem I was talking about in the book.

At first I was unsure how to address this because I did not want to disrupt my  planned flow of the book, so I decided to interject sidebars in the book explaining how Essence could help to solve the problem I was describing.

I had twenty-one reviewers of this book who reviewed multiple versions over the last three years. Only eight of those reviewers had any knowledge of SEMAT/Essence before reviewing the book.  Unfortunately, many of my reviewers gave me negative feedback on the new sidebars with comments such as:

“I find the sidebars distracting,”

“I don’t get this Essence thing,” and

 “The alpha idea makes my head spin”. 

Multiple reviewers suggested that I break the book into two books – taking all the Essence material out of the first book, having a second book just about Essence. Clearly these sidebars had  become a weakness of the book that I would need to overcome.

One reviewer who was a real practitioner and knew nothing about SEMAT or Essence suggested that I take all the  SEMAT/Essence specific material out of the first two parts of the book (first 12 chapters/ about 150 pages), and replace the sidebars with a more general “framework vision” that explained in simpler terms what was needed to solve the problem I was talking about.

He suggested that I use no “process-freaky” words in the sidebars.  This was a project manager in a large US Defense Company who is a very practical oriented manager.  He then said I should keep the Essence framework discussion in the book, but present it late in the book showing how it meets the requirements of the framework vision and how it can help to solve the problem I had discussed in the first two parts of the book.

This is the path I took, and most of my reviewers not only agreed with this approach, but some even went so far as to say they thought the new framework vision was now one of the major strengths of the book.  It was particularly good to hear that the reviewers were able to easily grasp the vision and agree with it, as it now was being presented in the new way.  I now think of this framework vision presented in Parts I and II of the book as the requirements and Essence, as presented in Part III of the book, as an example of one way to implement those requirements.

One reason I wanted to share this story with you is because in Part III of the book where I do talk about Essence I do so from the perspective of how it can help to solve a major problem the software community faces today.

As it turned out, taking this approach achieved another goal as well. Whenever I have spoken at  Universities or Conferences in the past about Essence, there always seemed to be at least a few people who would ask:

“Why do we need Essence?” 

Or

“What problem is Essence going to solve that the other aids we have today like Scrum, CMMI and Lean Six Sigma don’t already handle?” 

By presenting the framework from the perspective of how it can solve a real problem the software community faces, answering those common questions becomes much easier.

This leads us to an important question.

Why is it so difficult for many people to grasp the value of the Essence framework when first presented to them?

Some have observed that it could be because Essence requires a paradigm shift not unlike what was needed when object oriented design was first introduced in the software community.  I would love to hear your thoughts related to this question.

You can learn more about how Essence can help to solve the problem that I talk about in the first two parts of the book at:

In future blogs I intend to share more about how this book evolved including a story related to how the book achieved its final title which was based on a  polling of many of my reviewers after I had literally written down more than 100 possible titles.  I will also share the top 4 candidate titles, and I will tell you why they all would have been great choices, and I will tell you now my initial personal favorite was not the final choice.

The book is available in ebook and paperback format from http://www.Amazon.com.  It is also available in multiple ebook formats from www.leanpub.com/15fundamentals, and www.apple.com/ibooks.

 

4 Comments »

  1. Nice presentation

    Comment by Winifred Menezes — July 22, 2014 @ 8:14 pm | Reply

  2. Thanks Winifred. I appreciate the feedback!

    Comment by pemcmahon — July 23, 2014 @ 12:37 am | Reply

  3. Good to hear you, Paul, I’m picking up the Essence book again now with a fresh perspective. Bob.

    Comment by bobcorrick — July 24, 2014 @ 8:24 pm | Reply

    • That’s good to hear Bob. I encourage you to provide feedback on your thoughts in reading it.
      Now with the release of the Essence standard by the OMG we want to get more open community
      discussion on the topic. Thanks!

      Comment by pemcmahon — July 24, 2014 @ 11:45 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

